Tuesday, 18 June 2024


Geeta Phogat to Inaugurate 5th Edition of Ekal Run to be organized by FTS Yuva, the youth wing of Friends of Tribals Society

Staff Reporter –

FTS Yuva, the youth wing of Friends of Tribals Society is organising its annual flagship event Ekal Run at Godrej Waterside, Kolkata on 7th January, 2024 which would be inaugurated by India’s first ever gold medalist in wrestling at the Commonwealth Games Geeta Phogat wherein 5000+ participants will run for their chosen category of timed run – 21km, 10km, 5km and non-timed /fun run of 3km. People of all age groups will participate in the run.

Geeta Phogat started her career as a freestyle wrestler and in 2010, she would go on to win India’s first-ever gold medal in wrestling at the Commonwealth Games. Later, she went on to be the first-ever Indian female wrestler to qualify and represent India at the Summer Olympic Games. Coming from a small village in the state of Haryana, Geeta Phogat found it extremely challenging to follow her dreams of becoming a wrestler and to work towards making them a reality. Geeta Phogat also became the first woman wrestler to represent India at the Olympics, an accomplishment unparalleled at the time and set a benchmark for future Indian women wrestlers.

Speaking to the media, Mr. Gaurav Bagla, President FTS Yuva, Kolkata Chapter said, “I am thrilled to announce that Geeta Phogat will flag off our 5th Edition of Ekal Run. FTS Yuva is at the forefront of organizing this exceptional marathon which is for the cause of educating the rural children. This marathon inspires individuals to exceed their limits and achieve remarkable feats, at the same time contributing to this noble cause. With unwavering dedication, Ekal Run brings together athletes, enthusiasts, and communities to create moments of triumph and camaraderie that last a lifetime.”

Key Members:
FTS Yuva Board Members – Anirudh Modi Mentor; Niraj Harodia – National Coordinator; Gaurav Bagla, President; Rishabh Saraogi, Vice President; Vikash Poddar, Vice President; Abhay Kejriwal, Vice President; Vinay Chugh, Advisor; Raunak Fatesaria, Secretary; Rohit Bucha, Jt. Secretary; Rishav Gadia, Treasurer,; Rachit Chowdhary, Jt. Treasurer; Mayank Saraogi, Head Donation & Fund Raising; Ankit Deewan, Head Membership, Yogesh Choudhury, PRO and Vaibhav Pandya, Board Member.


Related posts

Kolkata Tigers Shine in Bengal Pro T20 League Kolkata

Staff Reporter – Kolkata Tigers Shine in Bengal Pro T20 LeagueKolkata, 13th June 2024 —…
Read more

বেঙ্গল প্রো টি-টোয়েন্টি লীগ ২০২৪ এ লাক্স শ্যাম কলকাতা টাইগার্সের আত্মপ্রকাশের মাধ্যমে বাংলার ক্রিকেটীয় ল্যান্ডস্কেপ একটি ভিন্ন মাত্রার অভিজ্ঞতা অর্জন করতে প্রস্তুত

নিজস্ব প্রতিনিধি – আসন্ন ২০২৪-এ শুরু…
Read more

অনুষ্ঠিত হলো আয়রন হ্যান্ড ওপেন আর্ম রেস্টলিং চ্যাম্পিয়নশীপ - ২০২৪

নিজস্ব প্রতিনিধি – আয়রন হ্যান্ড…
Read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *